May ‘14 Favourites: Lawnmowers, Trains, Bandicoots and Nail Polish

may 14 faves

Hey guys. May has been a busy month for me with exams, assignments and job applications for next year! Despite all this I managed to squeeze a few posts in, most notably my White Chocolate Mud Cake recipe, which earned me a few new followers and the 100 follower milestone!

I thought I would share some of the things I’ve enjoyed this month that you might also like. I don’t know if I will be doing a post like this every month, but I would like to do them occasionally to share a bit more of what I’m up to with you guys. So let’s crack into my favourites for May 2014!

 

mowerHousehold: Ozito Lithium Ion Cordless Lawnmower

I am in love with this lawnmower! After my old petrol mower finally carked it, I picked this baby up from Bunnings for AU$298. I never knew mowing the lawn could be this easy and enjoyable! I am going to do a full review on this at some point, but if you are desperate for a new mower I highly recommend you check it out! First of all there’s no messy, smelly petrol involved. The battery is easily removed and brought inside to charge in a compact charger that plugs into a power point. There’s also no back breaking tugging on the start cord, just press a button, bring the little green lever up to the handle bar and away you go! You can also easily cut the power by simply letting go of the lever if you need to suddenly stop. More in the full review to come, but I honestly love this thing.

 

Movie: Night train to Lisbon

This movie is about a man who comes across a beautiful, intriguing autobiographical book of a Portuguese man during the Salazar dictatorship of the 70’s. He embarks on a journey to find the author and uncover the whole story. The movie is in English and is set in two times, as we frequently see snippets from the events in the book, as the people mentioned within it tell their side of the story. I really enjoyed this movie and how as it unfolded we got beautiful quotes from the book, learnt more of the story from the perspective of the different people within it, as well as the historical background. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, I would put it in a genre that I call ‘Touching Human Realism’ along with The King’s Speech and The Butler – both great movies also.

 

bandicootNature: Eastern Barred Bandicoot

When I first moved into my house at the beginning of the year, a neighbour told me to keep an eye out for Bandicoots, the small marsupial responsible for the numerous small holes in the grass. I honestly never thought much about it since then, but I’ve just finished a week of night shifts in the emergency department, and have therefore been coming and going at unusual times of day such as 11pm and 4am and have finally twice spotted the Eastern Barred Bandicoot that has been poking little nose holes in our grass all year! The size of a small rabbit, bandicoots are most active between 1 and 4 am, when they poke holes in the ground with their noses while searching for grubs, beetles and worms to eat. They also have one of the shortest gestation of any mammal, of just 12 days and can have 16 young in one year! It’s worth keeping my cat Richard in at night to keep these threatened cuties safe. Read more here.

Product: Kester Black Nail Polish
I was after some Australian made nail polish that wasn’t tested on animals, and thankfully came across Kester Black. They have a beautiful range of colours to choose from and do free shipping for orders over $65 – though like most nail polish it can’t be shipped internationally and ships to Australia and New Zealand only. The polish is also vegan and free from Toluene, DBP, Formaldehyde, Formeheldyde Resin and Camphor. I picked up from left to right: Top/Base coat, Nude, Snowdrop, and Marshmallow, full reviews to come – but so far I am loving them!

 

Those are my favourites for May! A big thanks to all my 100+ followers. Let me know in the comments what you thought of this post and any of the things I’ve featured, and whether you would like to see more of these posts in future.

Leave a Reply

