Recipe: Pumpkin Brownie Pie

This pie is simple and tasty, and is my usual dessert offering at family holiday dinners. As I just made another one for Easter I thought I would share it with you guys!

This recipe is vegan and is adapted from ohsheglows.com’s vegan thanksgiving recipes. You can see an image HERE of the ohsheglows version of the pie, as you can see the topping is more sweet and crumbly compared to my simple pecan arrangement. It also shows how moist the brownie looks when warmed, all my photos are unfortunately of the pie when cold and don’t show you just how lovely and squishy it is!

Now onto the recipe! Pumpkin Brownie Pie Recipe (link is for PDF download)

Ingredients:

• 2-3 cups mashed pumpkin (I used half a butternut pumpkin)
• 1/2 cup and 1/3 cup sugar
• 1/4 cup coconut oil
• 3/4 cups plain flour
• 2×1 tbsp cornstarch/arrowroot/tapioca
• 1/4 cup cocoa/cacao powder
• 1/2 tsp baking soda
• splash of milk or water
• choice of spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, allspice)
• 1.5 cups pecan halves (180g)

Method:

1) Get that pumpkin boiled quicksmart! This is the longest and most tedious part of the recipe and should be done before you even get out the other ingredients. Peel and cut up your pumpkin and get it on the boil.

2) Preheat the oven to 180°C (350F) and grease your pie or brownie dish. I rubbed some coconut oil around my pie dish.

3) Assemble your dry ingredients, measuring cups and a mixing bowl and spoon. Add to your mixing bowl 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of coconut oil (the pumpkin will melt the oil if you’re using freshly boiled pumpkin, otherwise soften the coconut oil in the microwave first)

 

4) Once the pumpkin is boiled, drain the water and mash it up in the pot. Add half to your mixing bowl and mix well until the coconut oil is melted.

5) Add in 3/4 cups flour, 1 tbsp arrowroot/cornstarch, 1/4 cup cocoa powder, and 1/2 tsp baking soda. Mix well and scrape into your greased dish. Spread it around evenly.

6) In the same mixing bowl (or a new one if you want a brighter orange colour that hasn’t been contaminated with the brown chocolate mix) add the remaining pumpkin and moisten it with a splash of milk or water and mix through.

7) Add to the pumpkin 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tbsp arrowroot/cornstarch and your spices (I used cinnamon and nutmeg). Give it all a good mix then spread it over the top of the first layer in your dish.

8) Decorate the top with pecans and pop in the oven to bake for 30-40 minutes.

I make mine a day ahead because I think it’s much easier to cut into neat slices once it’s cooled, but I like to eat it warm. This is another picture of my pie when it’s cooled, from the side – you can see the two layers quite nicely here. The problem with the photos of the cooled pie are that they make the brownie layer appear somewhat dry, so if that’s putting you off giving it a go, do check out the picture of the ohsheglow’s pie that this recipe is based off, as it shows how the base looks when the pie is warm.

I really recommend this pie, once you’ve got the pumpkin out of the way it is really very quick and easy. I have my own version of this recipe printed out to make it easier to follow, and I have made that available to you for download Pumpkin Brownie Pie Recipe

Let me know if you liked this post and if you would like more recipes!

 

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Pumpkin Brownie Pie

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever had pumpkin pie before, it’s not really common over here! I don’t even know where I’d find some out of the Halloween season…? I may have a look when I go to Tesco’s next, I am curious. It looks yummy though! 🙂

    Also, I’m fascinated by the packaging, it looks so strange and different from Uk packaging. I have no idea why this fascinates me so much haha. x

    • Now I want to know what your packaging is like! What is most different about it?
      Also I just realised my ingredients picture doesn’t include the coconut oil *face palm*

      • Haha I will gather some things from my kitchen tomorrow and show you? I can’t describe the difference! But it’s definitely there haha

        I always associate coconut oil with body massages for some reason, it makes me chuckle 🙂

Leave a Reply

